I shushed it away!  The fly.  But it came back, and it kept landing right on the spot I was drinking from.  Yuck!!  Flies are so filthy.  I rubbed the spot off with a napkin, probably in vain.  I should have just squashed it, but I honestly didn’t want to take the time to do it.  The fly was nothing more to me than a pesky annoyance, and I wanted nothing more to do with it other than to move it away from me.    I didn’t care if it had needs, thoughts, or feelings.  I had no interest what-so-ever in studying it to learn   more about it.  It did not matter one iota if it had 2 wings and 6 legs, or only one of each.  It was a disgusting, germ-laden, disease-carrying thing and I wanted it gone.

Do you know that God could view us much the same way?  He has the power to squash us, like I could have done to that fly.  He finds our sin as filthy and disgusting as I find the germs on that fly.  He could see us as nothing more than a pesky annoyance, and care not an iota about us.  But thankfully, gratefully, that is not who God is!

God is not going to destroy us because of our sin.  In fact, He already provided a way for us to be near Him without the filth of our sin getting in the way.  That way is through the death and resurrection of His Son, Jesus.

In Deuteronomy 7:7-8 (NCV)  Moses told the Israelites, “The Lord did not care for you and choose you because there were many of you–you are the smallest nation of all.  But The Lord chose you because He loved you.”  Give that a personal twist.  God has not chosen any of us because of what we can offer Him.  We are puny.  We are sinful.  We are flies.  God chose us, chose to sacrifice His Son for us, because He loves us!!!

Luke 12:7 – “But God even knows how many hairs you have on your head.  Don’t be afraid.  You are worth much more than many sparrows.”  God loves us so much, He takes the time to know all about us, down to the very number of hairs on our head!!  I don’t even know that, and it’s my head!  Although, I’ll admit to counting grey hairs on occasion:-)

This week I discovered a lump on my breast.  I typically try to spend a lot of time in prayer.  I include in that time prayers for family, friends, people I know have specific requests.  I pray for my spiritual growth.  I don’t pray for specifics for me…a new house, a new job, whatever.  I generally just leave it to God to provide as He sees fit.  When something like this happens, I don’t know what to pray.  I don’t know what to think or feel, so I stop praying.  That is what I did.  But I didn’t just not pray about my health situation, I stopped praying entirely.  I found it a real chore to voice the smallest prayer.  Not that I was angry, scared, or anything like that.  It really just is what it is.  But I don’t know how to pray for myself when it comes to something so personal.

I was so relieved when God pointed out to me that His knowing how many hairs are on my head is not just a superficial  passing curiosity about who I am.  He knows everything about me, including the thoughts and feelings that I don’t even have a handle on.  I don’t know what I am thinking and feeling, but my God loves me so much that He knows.  And even more than that, when I don’t know what to pray, His own Spirit prays in my stead.  Romans 8:26-27 – “Also, the Spirit helps us with our weakness.  We do not know how to pray as we should.  But the Spirit Himself speaks to God for us, even begs God for us with deep feelings that words cannot explain.  God can see what is in people’s hearts.  And He knows what is in the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit speaks to God for His people in the way God wants.”

What is on your heart that God cares about, and the Spirit is praying for?  Take comfort in knowing how very deep His love is for you at this very moment!!!  God bless you all!!!